Week 50: You Say Goodbye, I Say Hello

Hello 🙂

So, this transfer was a lot harder than I thought it would be 😦 We went to say bye to the Adina family and I was just going to do it casually and then we got there and I told them I was moving the next day, and Brother Leo Adina instantly started crying. It broke my heart and so I started crying and I couldn’t stop for the rest of the day or the next morning. I thought I would get better at the goodbye thing. We said bye to the Bustillo family and most of the people we teach and I was a wreck. Then my district and some branch members came to the van terminal to say bye the next day and I was also a wreck.
aug28 goodbyes
The lady at the ticket counter asked me if I was okay…embarrassing haha. But I will miss Sister Healey and Sister Bombasi. My best friend in the mission, Sister Bombasi, and I have been together for almost 5 months now and it is weird not seeing her every day. I attached a picture of our goodbye.
Aug28 bombasi
Then I said hello to Biliran and I LOVE IT HERE. It is a beautiful island and the people are so kind. Especially the members here; they have an enthusiasm for missionary work and helping the members that I haven’t seen yet and I am excited to be a part of it. This week was more for me to meet a lot of the people and BRT with them and it was so much fun. One Sister we visited is a part member and we taught her literally on the beach side at sunset; it was surreal and I had to keep reminding myself that it was real. But it was an awesome lesson. We taught about the restoration and she opened up and cried to us about how she knows the church is true and wants to go but her husband is so sick, it broke our hearts and as we left we hugged and cried with her. We visited some less active families who haven’t come to church in MONTHS and on Sunday they came to church 🙂 I was so ecstatic and even though I have only been here less than a week, I already feel so close to everyone here. The short lady who is in a lot of the pictures works with us a lot and she is amazing. She is already one of my best friends in the mission. We have FHE at her house later 🙂 Her name is Nanay Gabuya.
We rode this cool boat to go to one of our areas and I was so happy because I miss boats 🙂
aug28 boat
aug28 on the water
aug28 transfer
Sister Allen is amazing and I am so excited to be her companion. We have so much fun together and quote The Office all the time and we have similar interests and hobbies. I love her 🙂

AUG28 savior
I have already told you that this is my favorite picture(of Jesus raising Lazarus’ daughter from the dead). I have a little picture of it attached now to the back of my little Book of Mormon so I use it quite a bit in lessons. But I decided to read and learn more about the story of the picture I always use and I found it in Matthew, Mark, and Luke in the New Testament. And I am so glad that I did because it made the picture even better 🙂 Basically, Jesus is teaching some people and then Lazarus comes and tells him that his daughter is dead and that he needs Jesus’s help. Jesus stops everything he is doing to go help Lazarus’ daughter. When he gets there the people are mocking him and all Jesus says is “Be not afraid, only believe.” He then heals her and she is brought back to life. I usually share this story because I love that Lazarus and his wife are standing by her bedside, but Jesus is the one helping her to stand. Because my parents are amazing and are always there for me and I love them so much for that, Jesus Christ is the only one who can truly help us in our time of need. Through His Atonement is the only way we can be saved. The facts add to the story, because even though there are so many of us here on the Earth, Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ will do anything for us at any time no matter how “busy” they are. And if we simply are not afraid but just believe, we will be saved and He can help us no matter if we feel lonely or if we feel like the people in our life don’t understand. I love our Savior and how important each and every one of us is to Him.
I am so grateful for my mission and for the people here. I am absolutely in love with this place and the work that I do everyday. The gospel is amazing and it changes lives, but we have to let it change ours.
Love,
Sister Prudencio
Leave a Reply

