Week 39: Two Americans and No Water

Hello! 🙂

I miss you all dearly as always but this week was good! I got a new companion. She is an American from Oregon and her name is Sister Healey. She is chill. She likes volleyball, New Girl, and Eminem…so you can all see we will get along really well 🙂 This is the first time that President Maurer has made two Americans STLs together because the STL’s are in charge of going on exchanges with Sisters and there are some sisters who either don’t like Americans or they have a hard time communicating in English, so usually President always has at least  1 Filipina. But Sister Healey and I are excited for the challenge and to show the Sisters our love. One Sister that just got to the mission and is under our stewardship is from my parent’s stake in Gilbert Arizona – Sister Snow – so that is a coincidence. 

jun5companion

Our apartment seems to be falling apart. My closet is broken and it won’t stand up and our bunk bed is about to break and I fear for my life very night when I climb on the top. And we still don’t have running water so every other night the Elders come and carry it from the first floor to the third floor in buckets. Catbalogan seems to be in a drought. Sometimes when my companion is using a lot of water in her shower or taking a long time I yell at her some famous words from Hilary Duff in Cinderella Story, “Don’t you know we are in a drought??” 

jun5laundry

But really it is rough and especially for the other people in Catbalogan. I can’t remember if I have already shared this but there are lines and lines and lines to a water pump all day long just so people can carry the water up to their house to wash dishes, take showers, not go thirsty. It is really, really sad and hard to see. I will never take running water for granted again. One scripture I read from the New Testament this week from Revelation 7:16-17. It reads: 

“They shall hunger no more, neither thirst any more; neither shall the sun light on them, nor any heat. For the Lamb which is in the midst of the throne shall feed them, and shall lead them unto living fountains of waters: and God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes.”

This is John talking about the people being exalted after this life and what their lives will be like in Heaven. These are the people who have followed and lived the gospel of Jesus Christ in their lives.

When I read this in personal study I couldn’t help to think about the people here who have such a hard time with their water and how hot it is here that people do anything to stay cool since there is only Air Conditioning in restaurants and stuff like that sometimes. I teared up telling my companion about how grateful I am that we have the knowledge about how to receive the promise in these verses in Revelation. We shared this with one family (Sanico Family) who hasn’t been to church in a few weeks because of the water and they are tired and there is no water to shower with. We promised them and assured them that this trial that they have and this life is so short compared to eternity and that if we can endure through the trial like water and continue to keep the commandments and go to church, then after this life and forever they will have an infinite amount of water and food and they wont need an electric fan because it won’t be blazing hot. But first we need to show Heavenly Father here ,that we deserve that reward. She tearfully promised to come to church next week with her kids. 

I love the gospel and I am grateful for the example that people show me here in the Philippines. 

I hope you all stay safe and grateful for the blessings that Heavenly Father gives us each day and strive everyday to live worthily of being exalted and the promises in Revelation.

Hinigugma kamo nako oraora!!!!!!!!!!!!

Love,

Sister Prudencio

jun5boy

PS. The picture up above is me doing my laundry and the boy in this picture is named is Alex. He lives in the apartment right below ours and when we are in our apartment studying he will lean against the screen and say Sista Prudensha, Sista Prudensha, Sista Prudhesha…until I answer him. He is the cutest kid in the entire world and they move out this week 😦 if you see news of an American missionary in the Philippines kidnapping…it may or may not be me. He sings Never Say Never by Justin Bieber but in the wrong tune and with a thick accent so it took us forever to figure out that is what he was singing. He says that he is his favorite. I love Alex haha. 

 

Leave a Reply

