Week 33: More Hard Goodbyes, Another Call From President, and More Amazing Families

Maupay nga Kulop!

 Yes I got transferred again and it was so hard again!
Saying goodbye to the people in Borongan was so hard and I still miss them, but I know that I will stay in touch and see them again. The hardest people to say bye to was the Antioquia Family. They were all less active when I got to the area and so we visited them a lot and now they are all returned and I am so close with them. They are the ones who threw me the surprise birthday party. I cried teaching them the last lesson and saying bye to them all. I also got pictures with Reina Bing who is the smartest 10 year old ever. She has been going to church by herself for the past two years and she is not a member, but her mom is and has been less active for a long time (her father is not a member). President won’t let her get baptized until her mom becomes active again. She is amazing and I can’t wait for her to get baptized 🙂
m1siand kids
 President called me on Tuesday morning starting with “Sister Prudencio, I have another assignment for you.” After asking what it was, he said I need you to fly to the moon”…I accepted so my new area is the moon…Jokes. He really did say that and I really did accept but then he said it is really to be a Sister Training Leader. I was less nervous than when he called me to be a trainer, but obviously still nervous and thinking of my inadequacies. But the Sisters I am over are SOOO nice and amazing Sisters 🙂 I am excited to get to know them more. I am now in Catbalogan.
m1catbalogan
It is the most “city” area I have been in and there are stairs for dayzzzzz as in stairway to heaven sooo my legs will be pretty strong once I leave this area.
m1sierra
My new companion is Sister Acama who goes home in 5 weeks. She is surprisingly not that trunky and I am excited to learn from her. Our kabalay is in training and she just came from the provo mtc and she went to BYU Hawaii and she is SOOO much fun, Sister Bombasi. We are already really close and have super similar personalities and senses of humor. I attached a picture of my new district here in Catbalogan.
m1group
Catalogan has been amazing 🙂 we had 10 investigators come to church on Sunday after visiting them this week and they are amazing families with HUGE desires to get baptized and be sealed in the temple. I am excited to continue teaching them and watching them progress and then hopefully hearing about their temple sealing in a few years 🙂
I would like to share one thought from my personal study the other day that strengthened my testimony and gratitude for our Savior and His Atonement. I was reading the December 2015 Liahona and I read this little story from a woman who lost her 17 year old daughter. She referred to the story of Lazarus from the John 11 where it tells us that Jesus loved Lazarus, Mary and Martha. Word was sent to Jesus that Lazarus was ill, but when He arrived Lazarus had already died. Mary ran to Jesus, fell at His feet and starting weeping. John 11:35 tells us that when He saw Mary cry “He groaned in the spirit and wept”. This lady then goes on to say it perfectly what I learned and felt from this story in the Bible:
That is our charge. We must feel and see for ourselves and then help all of Heavenly Father’s children to feel and see and know that our Savior has taken upon Himself not only all our sins but also our pains and our suffering and afflictions so that He can know what we feel and how to comfort us.” 
I have a strong testimony that Jesus cries for us when we cry and rejoices when we are happy. But this story puts it so vividly how he understands our pains and losses. I cried reading it, thinking of Jesus’ compassion and how I know he does the same when I cry and he know perfectly how I feel. I want to help others understand that he does the same for them. 
 
I think if we all tried reaching out to someone(member or not) who is having hard time or going through a loss in their lives and helping them understand the Savior’s role in their afflictions and losses, we would gain a stronger testimony for ourselves, helping people along the way. 
I love this work and I love our Savior and Heavenly Father and the chance I have to be with my family forever. 
 
Love with all my guts,
 
Sister Prudencio 
Leave a Reply

