The Best Week Ever (aka my birthweek)

HELLO EVERYONE!!!!

First off, thank you everyone for the birthday wishes and to start this email I am going to give a shout out to my brother Ian because I received a handwritten letter from him this week and this was his request. I love you Ian and Meghan says you have grown six inches!

This week was the best birthday week of my whole life maybe. To start, when we did weekly planning last week I wrote “THE BEST WEEK EVER” to predict this past week and Sister Davis and I goaled for 15 more lessons than we usually get (I had to beg Sister Davis for this and tell her it was what I wanted for my birthday) and she thought I was crazy and didn’t think it was possible. She was sweet to still goal it with me and try. GUESS WHAT?!? We taught the exact number of lessons that we goaled for AND church attendance was 40 people higher than it ever has been since I have been here. I am not saying that it was because of us, but it just felt good to know that the less actives that we taught, investigators, and recent converts came to church and that our hard work showed a little. Sunday was an amazing day and our sacrament hall, and classes couldn’t fit everyone. On top of that, we now have 21 progressing investigators and I am so excited to continue working with them and seeing them continue to read the Book of Mormon and pray and their minds be enlightened. Perfect end to my birthday week:)

On Tuesday, we visited a less active couple that we rarely get to visit because Brother is amar2trio tour guide, but he sang me 3 “happy birthday” songs and it was so cool because some of them were in Waray-Waray. It made my night 🙂

On Wednesday we had an appointment to teach Brother Jason and when we showed up, his family and a lot of the ward missionaries were there holding a cake with candles, singing happy birthday to me. COMPLETE SURPRISE! First surprise birthday party in my whole life and there were balloons and presents and everything.  mar2bday

These amazing people have not enough money to get a ride to church and they do things like throw me (who has been here for six weeks) an amazing birthday party. I love the Antioquia family 🙂 We then went to the Navales family and I made them mango float and they made us yummy fish. We did lots more for my birthday but those were the highlights 🙂  mar2bdaygirl

THEN on Friday, we had a Zone Training Meeting and Sister Davis and I are the only sisters in the zone which is rare. But I made a missionary rap to the beat of “remember the name” and they all wanted me to “rap” it and so I did and it was so fun. After the training, SistMar2grouper Davis and I went to the CR(bathroom) and when we returned to the room, the lights were off and all the elders were standing waiting for my return and Elder Reyes was holding a cake with candles shaped in 23 because he thought I turned 23 instead of 22, but it was still so great:) They are all sweethearts and I am grateful for all of the people here in Borongan who made my birthday the best week ever.

For the last bit of news: President Maurer called me this week and asked me to train; so on Thursday I will meet my new companion at the mission home and I am sooo sooo sooo nervous. For those who haven’t served: when you train in the mission, your “trainee” is fresh out of the MTC and so the trainer is in charge of teaching the language, how to teach, etc. etc. It is a huge responsibility but I know that with Heavenly Father’s help I can do it.

Mar2Si

Love Love Love,

Sister Prudencio

PS: A lot of people emailed me this past week about seeing other’s through God’s eyes which is bizarre because that was our talk of the week this past week so that is exactly what I have been trying to do all week 🙂

QUOTE OF THE WEEK:” I now realize that in the Church, to effectively serve others we must see them through a parent’s eyes, through Heavenly Father’s eyes. Only then can we begin to comprehend the true worth of a soul. Only then can we sense the love that Heavenly Father has for all of His children. Only then can we sense the Savior’s caring concern for them.”

This was perfect preparation for training my new companion:)

More pictures from my birthday cave trip!!

Leave a Reply

