Five Months and mga bata (children)

Happy Belated Valentines Day and my 5 month mark!

Tomorrow marks my 5 months since entering the MTC and I cannot believe it! It is going so fast and I hate it honestly haha. I love it too much here already.

I want to start with the funny stuff, and then I will get more inspiring.

First story: we visited one of our less actives, Jason, who is 22 and kind of a punk and also shy. I was getting to know him more so asking what he liked to do, and we found out he likes playing chess and I do too, so he asked if I could teach him and we were like yeah we could on our p-day, what time would be best for you and then he got kind of shy and we asked again, he basically said he thought it wasn’t allowed for missionaries to date on their mission(so, awkward cause he thought I was asking him out) so I cleared up that it wasn’t a date and started talking to his parents about something else, and Sister Davis decided to ask him again and instead of saying anything, he just got up and walked out of the house and he never returned… so funny and awkward.

Story 2: there was a farewell/institute activity and we were asked to cook a ton of carbonara which neither of us had made  before so we basically guessed and made sooo much for 40 people and it turned out terrible. We decided there was no way we could bring it to the party so we scrambled to find a restaurant that made it and then threw away most of the nasty pasta we made and just put their pasta in a big pot. Don’t ask don’t tell policy. We left some of our pasta in the big pot sooo there were definitely mixed reviews on our pasta. I never want to see carbonara again.

Story 3: about the children in the picture and my subject: We went to Surok again and decided to find and we walked past this school where a few kids said “Americano americano”, like they always do, and usually I respond “hain?” (where?) and when we turned around to laugh, they pointed to a little boy sitting next to them who was american, but was raised here so he didn’t know english and it was the most fascinating thing to me.Feb 14 kids

They all then followed us and we were walking forever in the middle of nowhere cause they all claimed that there was a house, 20 minutes later there was a house and we walked up to it to meet the people with 20 children. Most awkward on the spot teaching that I have done, BUT they were a very nice couple.

Feb14children

One of our investigators who is trying to stop drinking and has been doing sooo good! (he stopped for almost a month) came home from work while we were with his family drunk; so we taught him about the Atonement because he kept saying he really wants to stop but it is so hard. We asked if they wanted priesthood blessings from the Elders and they said they did. So Saturday we went with the Zone Leaders and they gave each of them (5) a blessing some for sickness and then support for brother. The spirit was so strong and I loved seeing the power of the priesthood being used on this family that I have already grown to love so much and who are not yet members. It made my testimony of the priesthood and priesthood blessings grow and reminded me of the ones that I have received in my life that have helped me. I love this gospel and the Priesthood power that we have. We explained before and after that the blessings were on condition of their faith.

Our talk for this week was “Be an Example and a Light” by President Thomas S. Monson. Amazing talk. My favorite quote which hung on my wall for the first 12 weeks of the mission reads:

You have come from His presence to live on this earth for a season to reflect the Savior’s love and teachings and to bravely let your light shine for all to see.”
Each of us was born with the light of Christ and it is our choice to add oxygen or suffocate the light til it burns out. Through our faith and example, we can have a bright light of Christ that people will recognize and sprout a curiosity that will give opportunities for missionary work.

He illustrates this with a story: “At that time, leaders of the Church met with officials in Jerusalem to work out a lease agreement for land on which the Church’s Jerusalem Center would be built. In order to obtain the permissions needed, the Church had to agree that no proselyting would be undertaken by our members who would occupy the center. After that agreement had been made, one of the Israeli officials, who was well acquainted with the Church and its members, remarked that he knew the Church would honor the no-proselyting agreement. “But,” he said, referring to the students who would attend there, “what are we going to do about the light that is in their eyes?” May that special light ever shine within us, that it might be recognized and appreciated by others.”

Continue to fuel that light of Christ within all of you.

I love you all and miss you all.

Sister Prudencio

PS. When our investigator came home super discouraged, we were able to testify and talk about the Savior and how he didn’t just suffer for our sins but he suffered every type and gravity of temptation that we have. I know that when we have temptations, we can pray for help to overcome them and He will help because he knows exactly how it feels and how to overcome them. I love the Savior and how he sacrificed so much so that he could know exactly how to help and comfort.

Leave a Reply

