First week in the Philippines!

Well, after a long day of flying from SLC to LAX to Hong Kong, our group of 40 missionaries made it to Manila. It is BEAUTIFUL here!! The flight was long but not too bad. Everyone is so nice and we immediately started going out in the city and proselyting!!! Every Filipino that I meet for the first time tells me my last name is Filipino.    We had to wait in Manila until our Visas came through, but we finally got them and I am now in Tacloban.

I left my zone of 40 this morning who I grew so so close to and it was heartbreaking but I know that I am here for the Lord and as long as I think about that I don’t miss everyone TOO much.
Anyway, President and Sister Maurer are AMAZING!
They have my sense of humorMaurers and I already love them to death. I am so lucky to have been called here and it is absolutely beautiful. Green everywhere. I would not want to be anywhere else.
THE MOST AMAZING EXPERIENCE I’VE HAD SINCE I LEFT HOME: I was assigned a temporary trainer today and we went proselyting in Tacloban just walking down the street from the mission home and we got a few “we’re busy” and then we asked a women what street we were on and told her we were missionaries and she burst into tears talking(in Waray) about her life which I could only understand bits and pieces of but I could feel her pain and loved her and felt for her immediately. After telling her I didn’t understand her and could only speak a little Cebuano, not Waray, but that I knew this gospel was true and that it would make her happy, she invited us into her house! We took off our shoes and sat on her floor made of wooden planks, because she had no furniture, surrounded by walls that were literally just planks of wood and my heart broke for her again and the prayers that I have had since I got my call to love the people I will serve were answered and I could feel the love so powerfully. As we all sat on her floor, she, with tears pouring down her face, told us her story and we found out she is a member but as been less active for 5 years and her parents don’t want her to go to church. I couldn’t understand 99% of what she said but the Spirit filled her little house and I could see the light of Christ still in her. She understood Cebuano thankfully and I bore my testimony and told her that I was there because I love her and Heavenly Father loves her and wants her to be happy and the restored gospel, which she knew was true, could make her so. path flag twirl
I love her, Sister Jackelyn, and her baby which was the cutest baby I have ever seen. She invited us back, so other missionaries will go back and she said she will go to church again on Sunday. I can’t express my excitement for opportunities to meet people like her and have opportunities like that for the next 17 months.
I am where the Lord wants me and I am excited to be changed by these humble people.
Be grateful EVERYDAY for the things you have. Like walls, carpet, air con, clean water, etc because there are so many people that don’t have those blessings in their life and yet they are so happy:)
I LOVE YOU ALL! I will probably be assigned a Waray area so I am praying for the gift of tongues.
Stay strong and grateful every single day and remember the words of Alma 34:38.
That ye contend no more against the Holy Ghost, but that ye receive it, and take upon you the name of Christ; that ye humble yourselves even to the dust, and worship God, in whatsoever place ye may be in, in spirit and in truth; and that ye live in thanksgiving daily, for the many mercies and blessings which he doth bestow upon you.
Uban tanan sa akong gugma, (with all my love)
Sister Prudencio
Leave a Reply

